Archives Index

The Treaty of Lahore was signed on 9 March 1846 after the First Sikh War. After the defeat of the Sikhs at the Battle of Sobraon the British were able to march into Lahore without any further battles
March 9, 1846
Maharajah Gulab Singh had to pay to the British Government the sum of seventy five lakhs of rupees (Nanak Shahi), fifty lakhs paid on the ratification of the treaty and twenty five lakhs on or before October 1, 1846, to geet all land including hills lying between rivers Indus and Ravi
October 1, 1846
Resolution 38 (1948) Submitted by the Representative of Belgium and adopted by the Security Council at its 229th meeting held on 17 January, 1948. (Document No. S1651, dated the 17th January, 1948)
January 17, 1948
Resolution 39 (1948) Submitted by the Representative of Belgium and adopted by the Security Council at its 230th meeting held on 20 January, 1948 (Document No. S/654, dated the 20th January, 1948)
January 20, 1948
Resolution 47 (1948) on the India-Pakistan question submitted jointly by the Representatives for Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, the United Kingdom and United States of America and adopted by the Security Council at its 286th meeting held on 21 April, 1948. (Document No. 5/726, dated the 21st April, 1948)
April 21, 1948
Resolution adopted by the United Nations Commission for India and Pakistan on 13 August 1948 (Document No.1100, Para. 75, dated the 9th Nov, 1948)
August 13, 1948
On January 10, 1966, the Prime Minister of India and the President of Pakistan have agreed that relations between India and Pakistan shall be based on the principle of noninterference in the internal affairs of each other
January 10, 1966
The agreement, signed in July 2, 1972, bound the two countries "to settle their differences by peaceful means through bilateral negotiations"
July 2, 1972
Parliamentary Resolution, passed on February 22, 1994, calls upon Pakistan to stop forthwith its support to terrorism, which is in violation of the Simla Agreement and the internationally accepted norms of inter-State conduct and is the root cause of tension between the two countries
February 22, 1994
The Government of India revoked the special status, or limited autonomy, granted under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution to Jammu and Kashmir
August 5, 2019